All sections

Apply for e-visa online

Azerbaijan

Azerbaijan is the county, than located on the junction of two continents- Europe and Asia.  In the north we border with Russia, in the south with Iran, in the west with Armenia and Georgia, and in the east our country is laved by the waters of Caspian sea.

Azerbaijan is the country with ancient and rich history.  For thousands years rich cultural heritage had been created here, included in the treasury of world civilization. The jaw of human living in Azykh Cave and things of material culture were found here and 250 thousands years old.

The first formations of Azerbaijani statehood historians refer to the first millennium BC. Absheron peninsula, where the capital Baku is located, began to be populated 40 thousands years before. Archaeologists still find the remains of dwellings, stone tools, and other traces of human activity. The most interesting place for these cases is Gobustan museum of rock paintings  and museum complex “Gala” 

One of the interesting places is Nakhchivan, where according to the legend Noah’s grave is located. The history of Azerbaijan also linked with the names of Bartholomew the Apostle and Eliseus the Saint, who preached here. In the Sheki region is located the church that was built in 62 by the Eliseus the Apostle. There are other interesting sightseeing, that relates to different religions: pagan and Zoroastrian temples, synagogues, churches, mosques and other religious monuments. Over the centuries powerful countries waged wars to have this territory. Locals had to fight against phalanx of Alexander the Great, legions of Roman Empire, troops of Persian kings, repel attacks of nomadic hordes from Volga steppes.  And in time of peace actively was conducted a trade with different counties. Many trade routes from the East to the West, including famous Silk Way, passed through Azerbaijan. In the middle ages Azerbaijan was divided into Principalities, fortresses began to be built in inaccessible mountain area, which you can visit while excursion.
Nowadays, Azerbaijan is the country consistently building democratic society that aspires to integrate into the world economic system, and has all necessary conditions for it.    

In the modern Azerbaijan are live representatives of many nations and peoples.  Multiplicity of nations and peoples populating the country, lead to variety of dishes.  Each region is famous for its dishes and drinks. This is the heaven for gourmets. 

Occupying relatively a small area, Azerbaijan has unique natural and climatic features. 9 of 11 climatic zones are represented on the territory of Azerbaijan: from subtropics to Montane grasslands and shrublands.  The difference of height is from 28 meters below the level of the world ocean (Baku) to 4466 meter above the level of world ocean (mountain Bazarduzu) In the north of Azerbaijan are located mountain of Great Caucasian Range, in the north-west- mountains of Lesser Caucasus and on the south Talysh (Hyrcarian) mountains. In the central part of county are located steppes. 
Caspian Sea is the unique and the biggest lake in the world. Being closed reservoir, Caspian sea has its distinctive flora and fauna

There are 250 mud volcanoes on the territory of Azerbaijan. Mostly they are located in the region from Lokbatan to Alat. Mud volcanoes create unique landscape that reminiscent pictures from fantastic movies. 

There are more that 1000 rivers running through the territory of the country. There is no any large lake with fresh water in Azerbaijan, but there are a lot of small lakes- about 250. 

There are more than 4200 types of plants in the country. В республике насчитывается более 4200 видов растений. Some of them are relicts and can’t be met in any other place in the world- for example, Eldar Pine, Albizia julibrissin, Ironwood. Mountain forests are attractive for rest and tourism. Fauna of Azerbaijan is rich either. Animal world is represented by 12000 types, 623 of them are vertebrate.

Only in Ghizil-Agaj State Reserve 250 types of birds nest each year. 

We invite you to visit hospitable Azerbaijan- country of nice contrasts.

ВСЕ РАЗДЕЛЫ

ОФОРМИТЬ ВИЗУ ОНЛАЙН

Азербайджан

Азербайджан – это страна, которая находится на стыке двух континентов – Европы и Азии. На севере мы граничим с Россией, на юге с Ираном, на западе с Арменией и Грузией, а с востока страну омывают воды Каспийского моря.

Азербайджан – страна с богатой и древней историей. Здесь на протяжении многих тысячелетий создавалось богатое культурное наследие, вошедшее в сокровищницу мировой цивилизации. Найденные в Азыхской пещере челюсть жившего здесь человека и предметы материальной культуры имеют возраст более 250 тысяч лет.
Первые образования азербайджанской государственности историки относят еще к первому тысячелетию до нашей эры. Абшеронский полуостров, на котором находится столица – г.Баку,  начал заселяться еще 40 тыс.лет назад. Археологи до сих пор находят остатки жилищ, каменные орудия, другие следы деятельности человека. Наиболее интересным в этом отношении является Гобустанский музей наскальных рисунков и музейный комплекс «Гала».

Одной из интересных местностей является Нахичевань, где по легенде находится могила Ноя. История Азербайджана также связана с именами Апостолов Варфоломея и Елисея, которые здесь проповедовали. В Шекинском районе находится церковь, которая была построена в 62 году апостолом Елисеем. Интересны и другие памятники, относящиеся к различным религиям: языческие и зороастрийские храмы, синагоги, церкви, мечети и другие религиозные памятники. На протяжении веков крупные державы вели войны за обладание этой территорией. Местным жителям приходилось воевать с фалангами Александра Великого, легионами Римской Империи, войсками Персидских царей, отражать нападения кочевых орд с Приволжских степей. А в мирные времена активно велась торговля с разными странами. Многие торговые пути с Востока на Запад, и в том числе знаменитый Шелковый путь, пролегали через Азербайджан. В средние века Азербайджан разделился на княжества, начали строиться крепости в неприступных горных районах, которые можно посетить с экскурсиями.

Сегодня Азербайджан – государство, последовательно строящее демократическое общество, которое стремится к интеграции в мировую экономическую систему, имея для этого все необходимые условия.
В современном Азербайджане живут представители многих наций и народностей. Многочисленность наций и народностей, населяющих страну, обусловила разнообразие кухни. Каждый регион славится своими особыми блюдами и напитками. Это настоящий рай для гурманов.
Занимая сравнительно небольшую территорию, Азербайджан располагает уникальными природно-климатическими особенностями. Из 11 климатических зон нашей планеты 9 представлены на территории Азербайджана: от субтропиков до высокогорных альпийских лугов. Перепад высоты от 28 метров ниже уровня мирового океана (Баку), до 4466 метров выше уровня мирового океана (гора Базар Дузю). На севере Азербайджана находятся горы Большого Кавказского хребта, северо-западе – горы Малого Кавказа, а на юге Талышские (Гирканские) горы. В центральной части страны расположены степи.
Уникальным является самое крупное озеро мира – Каспийское море. Являясь замкнутым водоемом, Каспийское море обладает своеобразной флорой и фауной.
На территории Азербайджана существует до 250 грязевых вулканов. В основном они расположены в районе от Локбатана до Алят. Грязевые вулканы образуют уникальный ландшафт, напоминающий кадры из фантастических фильмов.

По территории страны протекает более 1000 рек Крупных пресных озер в Азербайджане нет, но очень много малых озер – до 250.

В республике насчитывается более 4200 видов растений. Некоторые из них являются реликтами и нигде в мире не встречаются - к примеру, Эльдарская сосна, шелковая акация, железное дерево. Горные леса привлекательны для отдыха и туризма. Богата и фауна Азербайджана. Животный мир представлен 12000 видов, из которых 623 вида позвоночных. Только в Кызыл Агачском заповеднике в течение года гнездится 250 видов птиц.

Мы приглашаем Вас посетить гостеприимный Азербайджан – страну приятных контрастов.